Skip to Content
Employer Quick Look

City of Fort Collins


The Fort Collins City Council is composed of six district Council members who are elected on a non-partisan basis for a term of four years, and a Mayor who is elected at-large for a two-year term. The Mayor Pro Tem is chosen from among the entire Council and serves a term of two years.

The City Council serves as the community's legislative body, having responsibilities for enacting City ordinances, appropriating funds to conduct City business, and providing policy direction to City staff. By provision of the City Charter, Council has the power of appointment over the City Manager, City Attorney, and Municipal Court Judge.


Exceptional service for an exceptional community.


We are passionate about creating a vibrant, world-class community.