CareerBuilder Menu Search Search
Loading...
  Loading...
Employer Quick Look

Albert's Organics

(Public)  
Retail
501 - 1000 employees  |  
Overview
Albert's Organics was created because of one man's commitment to organic agriculture in 1982 in Los Angeles, CA. Since then we have become the largest certified organic wholesale distributor of organically grown fresh produce in the United States. We gained our certification in 1996, having been certified by Quality Assurance International (QAI), a federally recognized independent thirdparty certification organization. We are very proud to claim that we were the first produce distributor in the United States to become certified!

In 1989 an east coast division was opened in Bridgeport, NJ. Six years later the second east coast division was formed in Winter Haven, FL. Albert's acquired Boulder Fruit Express in November of 2000, and now operates its produce and perishable distribution out of Aurora, CO. In June of 2003, Northeast Cooperatives became part of the Albert's Organics family of companies, and is now our New England division.
Career Opportunities
Albert’s Introduces Organic Produce College

Albert’s Organics is proud to announce the opening of its web based Organic Produce College. This is a series of twenty lessons on the care, handling, merchandising and marketing of organic produce. The program is designed as a service for independent natural food store owners, general managers and produce managers, but would be of great benefit to any produce professional, particularly a conventional grocery store produce manager who is starting a new or expanded organic program.


The program can be accessed right here at our website. After registration, the students will be taken through lessons such as "What is Organic" and "The Art of Cross Merchandising". Each lesson is followed by a brief quiz, which must be answered correctly to proceed to the next lesson. Those industry professionals who complete the twenty-lesson course will be issued a certificate of completion and the first 200 people to do so will receive a Grateful Harvest produce knife. "This course is provided as a service to the produce industry," according to Barclay Hope, President of Albert’s Organics. "It represents the sum knowledge of over a half century of experience marketing and merchandising organic produce." Albert’s also intends to release a Spanish version of the Produce College, which should be available in February.
Products
Our Commitment to Organic Agriculture

Albert's Organics was created because of one man's commitment to organic agriculture in 1982. Since then we have become the largest certified organic wholesale distributor of organically grown fresh produce in the United States. We gained our certification in 1996, having been certified by Quality Assurance International (QAI), a federally recognized independent third-party certification organization. We are very proud to claim that we were the first produce distributor in the United States to become certified! All of the produce that we sell is certified organic and in compliance with the National Organic Standards. Even as we have grown and endured the changes in the organic marketplace over the years, we maintain the same high level of passion and enthusiasm for organic agriculture that was present in 1982 when Albert's Organics began with one small truck and a wide-eyed vision.

Our Commitment to the Growers

The cornerstone of our quality commitment comes from our working relationships with the growers. Our buyers have frequent daily communications with the growers, and our inspectors are welcome at the various farms to inspect and select product. This level of access has been developed over many years of working together and developing a level of trust and respect between the growers and Albert's Organics. The value of these relationships is immeasurable in obtaining high quality produce on a year round basis.

Our Commitment to You

All of the Albert's Organics distribution facilities have been certified by Quality Assurance International (QAI), a federally recognized independent third-party certification organization. We have been certified since 1996, and are very proud to claim that we were the first certified organic produce distributor in the country. This voluntary action demonstrates our ongoing commitment to the organic consumer and our efforts in bringing you the highest quality organic products.
Contact
Albert's East Division
Phone: 800-899-5944
200 Eagle Court
Bridgeport, NJ 08014

Vice President / General Manager - Rod Moyer ext 104 rmoyer@albertsorganics.com
East Coast Director of Sales - Scott Dennis ext 327 sdennis@albertsorganics.com
New Customer Contact - Sue Tamm ext 126 stamm@albertsorganics.com
Operations Manager - Sergio Martinez ext 118 smartinez@albertsorganics.com

big<>Albert's New England Division

Phone: 888-289-8418
71 Stow Drive
Chesterfield, NH 03443

General Manager - Greg Cota ext 42167 gcota@albertsorganics.com
Asst General Manager / Sales Manager - Joe Stepka ext 42168 jstepka@albertsorganics.com
Operations Manager - Ralph Buchanan ext 42171 rbuchanan@albertsorganics.com

Albert's South Division

Phone: 800-996-0004
621 Snively Avenue
Winter Haven, FL 33880

General Manager - Kevin Hanisak ext 223 khanisak@albertsorganics.com
Sales Manager - Randy LaRoche ext 224 rlaroche@albertsorganics.com
Operations Manager - Mike Murphy ext 222 mmurphy@albertsorganics.com

Albert's West Division

Phone: 800-899-4595
3268 East Vernon Avenue
Vernon, CA 90058

General Manager - Vincent Calvillo ext 215 vcalvillo@albertsorganics.com
Sales Manager - Roger Niebolt ext 203 rniebolt@albertsorganics.com
Operations Manager - Ernie Betancourt ext 245 ebetancourt@albertsorganics.com

Alberts Organics Denver

Phone: 800-671-0707
15965 E. 32nd Ave.
Aurora, CO 80011

General Manager - Mark Zeller ext 54460 mzeller@albertsorganics.com
Sales Manager - Debbie Henning ext 54484 dhenning@albertsorganics.com
Operations Manager - Marvin McGaha ext 54466 mmcgaha@albertsorganics.com

Albert's Twin Cities / Roots And Fruits

Phone: 877-241-3030
5222 Quincy St
Mounds View, MN 55112

General Manager - Ron Balsimo ext 62150 rbalsimo@albertsorganics.com
Sales Manager - Jeff Anderson ext 62144 janderson@albertsorganics.com
Operations Manager - Gary Overturf ext 62136 goverturf@albertsorganics.com


Source Organic

Phone: 800-625-5661
2450 17th Avenue Suite 250
Santa Cruz CA 95062

National Procurement Director - Melody Meyer ext 62225 mmeyer@albertsorganics.com
Commodity Buyer - Adele Gemignani ext 62201 agemignani@albertsorganics.com
Commodity Buyer - Renae Achondo ext 62207 rachondo@albertsorganics.com
Commodity Buyer - Rich Condon 800-899-4595 ext 217 rcondon@albertsorganics.com
Diversity
Organic farming practices respect and support of our environmental diversity by allowing a wide variety of plant species and wild animals to thrive in their natural habitats.